Lessons learned

Last week I was not able to post any entry in my blog, lots of work was done last week. Code refactoring, javascript validators, Smarty templates formatting are some major areas I worked on.

There was too many good things I learned. Firstly I took javascript validation part for my project, I found there were so much redudant code I written when I started working on the project. After taking some deep grasp on it, I was able to implement new validation function which does most kind of validation for me. This was the great achievement from last week. I wrapped my 1000 lines of code within just 100 lines, I am feeling very good about this. I share the code with some other team members and they were happy about the approch I took.

Smarty was one more things which was looking very egly no proper identetion, formatting, comments. No uniformity within the codes. I clean up most of the smarty templates, there are still some more which I will clean up this week.

In PHP, I clean up most part of PHP script, I feel very sorry that I didnt concetrated initially on my code which leads to this.

Some notes I took from this incident
-Always write good code, think before writing the code.
-Analyse it in every aspect, how it can help you in future.
-Is your code is easy to modify in future.
-Can I use the same code in other projects too.

I already started implementing this earlier but not on this project, that was mistake from my side.

But finally I am happy that I clean up many things last week.

Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

